## S PRE-PROCESSIONAL CONCERT

"Festive Overture" by Dmitri Shostakovich, transcribed by Donald Hunsberger UNC Symphony Band, UNC Wind Ensemble Jeffrey Fuchs, conductor

"Hymn Jubilar" by George Enescu, transcribed by Evan Feldman
UNC Symphony Band, UNC Wind Ensemble, Carolina Choir
Evan Feldman, conductor

# ORDER OF THE PROCESSION

### THE CHANCELLOR'S PROCESSION

Faculty Marshal
Delegates from Institutions of Higher Learning
Constituent Institutions of the University of North Carolina
Other North Carolina Colleges and Universities

### THE UNIVERSITY PROCESSION

Faculty Marshal
The Chancellor's Cabinet
The Deans
The Faculty
Vice Chair of the Employee Forum
Employee Representatives
Student Marshal
Student Representatives
Alumni Class Representatives

#### THE PLATFORM PROCESSION

(The audience stands when the Platform Procession begins.)
Faculty Marshal
The Associate Justice of the
North Carolina Supreme Court
The Chair of the Board of Governors
The President of the University of North Carolina
The Chair of the Board of Trustees
Chancellor Holden Thorp
Patti Thorp
The Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost
The Chair of the Faculty

The Secretary of the Faculty
The Chair of the Employee Forum
The President of the Student Body
Distinguished Alumna and Alumnus Award Recipients
The Board of Trustees of the University of
North Carolina at Chapel Hill
The Vice President of the Graduate and Professional
Student Federation
The Chair-Elect of the General Alumni Association
The Chair of the University of North Carolina
Faculty Assembly

#### **MARSHALS**

Trudier Harris, Faculty Marshal, J. Carlyle Sitterson Professor of English and Comparative Literature
Student Marshals of the Class of 2009

### CEREMONY

PRESIDING

Erskine Bowles

President of the University of North Carolina

PRESENTATION OF DISTINGUISHED ALUMNA AND ALUMNUS AWARDS

Bernadette Gray-Little,

Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost

Joseph S. Ferrell, Secretary of the Faculty

Distinguished Alumna and Alumnus Award Recipients

Molly Wilmer Barker, A.B. 1982, M.S.W. 1989

William Joseph Bynum Jr., A.B. 1982

Walter Lowry Caudill, B.S. Chem. 1979

**Leah McCall Devlin**, B.S. 1976, D.D.S. 1979, M.P.H. 1984

Debra Wehrle Stewart, Ph.D. 1975

GREETINGS

Hannah Gage, Chair, Board of Governors

The University of North Carolina

Roger L. Perry Sr., Chair, Board of Trustees

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

J.J. Raynor, President, Student Body

Eleanor Saunders Morris, Chair-elect,

General Alumni Association

Tommy Griffin, Chair, Employee Forum

Joseph L. Templeton, Chair, Faculty

REMARKS

Allan Gurganus

INSTALLATION OF THE CHANCELLOR

President Bowles

OATH OF OFFICE

The Honorable Patricia Timmons-Goodson

Associate Justice, State of North Carolina Supreme Court

President Bowles will present the Chancellor's Medallion.

ADDRESS

Holden Thorp

Chancellor

The audience will stand as the South Building bell rings ten times in honor of the University's tenth chancellor.

HARK THE SOUND

Hark, the sound of Tar Heel voices, Ringing clear and true, Singing Carolina's praises,

Shouting N.C.U.!

Hail to the brightest star of all!

Clear its radiance shine!

Carolina, priceless gem,

Receive all praises thine.

The audience will remain in place as the Platform Party recesses from the stage.

All guests are invited to attend a reception on Polk Place after the ceremony.

# THE CHANCELLOR'S MEDALLION

After taking the oath of office, Holden Thorp will receive the Chancellor's Medallion from University of North Carolina President Erskine Bowles. The three-inch diameter medallion is made of sterling silver, and bears the University seal on the obverse.

Donated by John Sanders, professor emeritus and former director of the University's Institute of Government, the medallion was modeled by Pittsboro sculptor Pete Hinton.